Great foundation routine for oily and acne-prone skin

For the past 5 years-basically since I started using makeup- I’ve been searching for a foundation routine which makes my skin glow flawlessly and would hide all my acne scars and blemishes. While I still didn’t find a magical routine/product which will completely transform my skin into a flawless one, I’ve got pretty close after hundreds of trials and errors. My latest foundation routine is the best one I’ve found so far; it conceals my blemishes and rednesses, doesn’t clog my pores and trigger acne, keeps my oily skin under control andddd stays on all day long! I will share with you the steps of my routine and the products I’ve been using and loving lately.

  1. Prepping the skin before putting foundation on is a key step as it determines how smooth your foundation will go on and how natural it looks. If you want to know how I take care of my skin (oily and acne-prone) and keep it acne-free, stay tuned for my upcoming post.
  2. Even if you have oily skin, moisturizing is an important step regardless of the fact that the face is not dry. By using a moisturizer, the sebaceous glands sense that the face is already hydrated and would in turn decrease oil secretion; after all that’s what we all want, right? Try using a moisturizer for oily skin as it tends to dry faster and prevent the shine. I use hope in a jar  philosophy and it’s been amazingly doing the job.
  3. Second step would be priming. Priming is important for two reasons; first, you want you makeup to last all day and not turn into separate patches of foundation within two hours, and second because people with oily skin usually suffer from big pores as well. Ok, so pores and foundation don’t match up so well and we’ve all been in a place where the our pores looked like craters which seem to get bigger as we keep adding foundation. And let me tell you, I’ve been there hundreds of times, until finally I did some research and found out that there are primers out there which make our lives sooo much easier. I only wish I’ve learned about it earlier. Silicone-based primers such as smashbox  photo finish and Makeup forever step one skin equalizer prep the pores but filling them in and allowing the foundation to go on smoothly without the ups and downs. Now, I know it’s a concern for a lot that it might clog the pores, however put your minds at rest, the products are hypoallergenic and do not clog pores-based on my personal experience of several months.
  4. Now we get to the best part, applying foundation! Foundation comes in many forms and structures. Some girls prefer cream, others prefer liquid and powders. Personally, I prefer liquid the most as I feel it’s the easier to apply (I don’t have a lot of time during the morning before class) and looks the most natural(I don’t want to look like a Barbie in my 8 o’clock biology class). Liquids tend to be eaier for nonprofessional makeup artists to spread equally across the face and it doesn’t cake like creams and powders usually do. As for the coverage, I like medium to full coverage. The foundation I’m currently using is the Kat Von D liquid foundation and I’m impressed by the coverage it gives me. It’s very durable and stays on for 12 hours straight!(I’m in school from 9am to 9pm on Wednesdays). If you want a less expensive but good drugstore foundation, I recommend trying Loreal Infalliable foundation, it gives medium coverage but is perfect for oily skin. After I run out of my current foundation, I wanna try tarte amazonian clay liquid foundation because I heard really good reviews about it. I’ll let you know how I like it in future posts. I usually spread my foundation using a damp beauty blender or a flat kabuki brush. Both work very well.   
  5. If I was having a bad day, and I further wanted to conceal my undereyes or a pimple, I would go in using  NARS creamy concealer or maracuja oil concealer by tarte. I blend it using a regular concealer brush. 
  6. To set the foundation, I usually use loose powder; easy to use and works miracles. I use tarte smooth operator and a powder brush. 
5 thoughts on “Great foundation routine for oily and acne-prone skin

      1. Omg that’s good does it waste faste lol sorry for the questions I just hate buying makeup and not being able to use it cuz it’s no good for me or it wasn’t worth it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

